Growing like crazy

We’ve had a spell of unseasonably warm weather here – in the 80s – so everything has been popping up practically the moment I put it in the ground. Everything I’ve planted from the first round is up except the parsnips and maybe the carrots (it’s too soon to tell if the sprouts in the carrot row are carrots or weeds.) The second plantings of lettuce and spinach are just coming up, too. It’s cooled off now, so hopefully it will be nice growing weather for a while.

I’m hoping to get some thinning done on the larger seedlings in the next week or so. I think I’ll get a salad’s worth of baby greens.

My tomatoes and peppers are growing nicely – a couple of the peppers even have flowers. Some of the potatoes are growing while others are turning yellow, so I’m not sure what’s going on there. I think I might have overwatered them, so I’m going to just let them be for a couple days.

Unfortunately, the bindweed’s growing like crazy too. I did learn that the previous gardener had rototilled every year – no wonder it was so badly infested! That gives me hope of being able to keep it at bay now that I’ve gotten the worst of it out.

Leave a Reply

