Lessons about gardening, #1

The lettuce will come up. Or if it doesn’t, you’ll know within a week and will have time to reseed. It’s not necessary to seed it heavily, and doing so will just mean more work thinning. Same goes for the spinach.

I thinned out some of my lettuce, spinach, and beets. Already the thinnings are more than I can eat in a day. It looks really tasty, though, and I’m excited to have food that I grew myself. It’s really a great feeling.

Today I built a teepee for my peas to grow on – a bit late, since they were starting to latch onto each other, but I think they’ll be ok. I put cages around the tomatoes, too.

Something was in my garden and pulled up a guide-string for my pathway. I also noticed that one of my broccoli plants got broken off. It’s got one leaf left, so hopefully it will survive. My best guess is that someone threw a ball over the fence or something similar.

I’d been feeling bad about the bindweed creeping up the fence and into the less-tended parts of the garden, but when I took a walk today I noticed that most of the bindweeds in the area are in full bloom. So far it seems like I’ve delayed that part anyhow. *knock on wood*

1 Comment »

  1. Middle Man said

    I am a flawed gardener myself. The only thing that I do seem to be able to grow successfully is bindweed. You might enjoy this:

    http://caughtinthemiddleman.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/the-good-life/

    Keep digging.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

